Burke Shire Council

Organisation: Burke Shire Council
Phone: 07 4745 5100
Organisation Website: http://www.burke.qld.gov.au

The Shire of Burke is a local government area in North West Queensland, Australia. The shire lies on the south coast of the Gulf of Carpentaria and abuts the border with the Northern Territory. It covers an area of 40,126.8 square kilometres (15,493.0 sq mi), and has existed as a local government entity since 1885. The major town and administrative centre of the shire is Burketown. The shire and town and the Burke River passing through all are named in honour of ill-fated explorerRobert O'Hara Burke.

From the months of August to November, a rare meteorological phenomenon known as "Morning Glory" - long, tubular clouds, some up to 1000 km in length - are often observed in the skies above Burke Shire.

The shire contains Boodjamulla National Park (formerly called Lawn Hill National Park) and the World Heritage Site Riversleigh fossil fields. The Aboriginal Shire of Doomadgee lies inside Burke Shire to the west of Burketown. It also includesGregory Downs.


Lot 65 Musgrave Street
PO Box 90
Burketown Qld 4830

Search among Burke Shire Council jobs

no jobs found