Moyne Shire Council

Organisation: Moyne Shire Council
Phone: (03) 5568 0555
Organisation Website:

The Shire of Moyne is a local government area in Victoria, Australia in the south-west of the state. It includes the townships of Port Fairy (population 2,560), Koroit (pop. 1,376), Mortlake (pop. 941), Macarthur (pop. 246), Peterborough (pop. 148), Caramut, Ellerslie, Framlingham, Garvoc, Hawkesdale, Kirkstall, Panmure, Mailors Flat, Purnim, Wangoom and Woolsthorpe. It entirely surrounds the City of Warrnambool, a separate local government area. The shire is named after the Moyne River which flows into Port Fairy.

The industry base for the area includes: Dairy, beef cattle, sheep, vegetable production, manufacturing (quarrying, food products, pharmaceuticals, seafood), tourism. It has an area of 5,478 square kilometres. In 2006 it had a population of 15,453. It was formed in 1994 from the merger of the Shire of Belfast, Shire of Minhamite, Borough of Port Fairy, and parts of the Shire of Mortlake, Shire of Warrnambool, Shire of Dundas (Victoria), Shire of Mount Rouse and Shire of Hampden.

PO Box 51
Princes Street
Port Fairy Victoria 3284

Search among Moyne Shire Council jobs

no jobs found